British Grand Prix Live Stream

The British Grand Prix live stream is always one of the highlights of the F1 calendar — and you can watch it all online from anywhere. So read on and we’ll show you how to watch F1 live streams from anywhere with a VPN, potentially for FREE.

Can the 2022 British Grand Prix live up to last weekend’s thrilling F1? If the English drizzle carries on, quite possibly. Red Bull is now comfortably leading the standings ahead of Ferrari and Mercedes, so Verstappen will be heading to Silverstone with confidence. However, could a home crowd buoy the Brits? Here’s our full guide on how to watch a British Grand Prix live stream online from anywhere, and for FREE in the UK.

The early-season wind has been knocked from Charles Leclerc’s sails. The Monegasque has not topped the podium since Australia and it looks dangerously like Ferrari has been bested for another season by the fastest fizzy pop company in the world.

Last year’s British Grand Prix was certainly an interesting one. After the first-ever F1 Sprint race, on the opening lap of the GP Hamilton and Verstappen collided, sending Max into the track wall at around 180mph. Hamilton went on to win. With this year’s machines though, we somehow expect the outcome to be a little different.

A huge draw of this weekend’s proceedings will be that for those in the UK the British GP is being aired live, in full, on Channel 4 for free. So, here’s how to watch a British Grand Prix live stream from start to finish and from anywhere in the world, including ways to watch for FREE.

2022 British Grand Prix schedule

Friday

Practice 1: 1pm BST / 2pm CEST / 5am PDT / 8am ET / 10pm AEST / 12am NZST

Practice 2: 4pm BST / 5pm CEST / 8am PDT / 11am ET / 1am AEST / 3am NZST

Saturday

Practice 3: 12pm BST / 1pm CEST / 4am PDT / 7am ET / 9pm AEST / 11pm NZST

Qualifying: 3pm BST / 4pm CEST / 7am PDT / 10am ET / 12am AEST / 2am NZST

Sunday

British GP: 3pm BST / 4pm CEST / 7am PDT / 10am ET / 12am AEST / 2am NZST

Watch a British Grand Prix free live stream from anywhere with a VPN

There are a number of ways to watch the British Grand Prix for free this weekend, but the standout is the full English-language coverage on the UK’s Channel 4

. This includes all practice and qualifying sessions, as well as Sunday’s race.

A full list of free-to-air streams can be found on our dedicated F1 live stream 2022 guide. In Austria for example, all the Grands Prix are shared between free-to-air broadcasters Servus TV

. Take a look and find out what’s available where you are.

Just remember that if you’re abroad at the time you’ll need to use a VPN to get the British Grand Prix free live stream

, as explained below. We rate ExpressVPN as the best provider out there, which has a great track record for unblocking geo-restricted streams.

How to watch the British Grand Prix live stream from outside your country

If you’re abroad for this weekend’s British GP, you’ll likely find you’re unable to access your usual Formula 1 coverage like you would at home. This isn’t necessarily cause for alarm, but rather the result of geo-blocking – best understood as digital borders that restrict certain services and content to certain parts of the world.

Fortunately, there’s a convenient way around this in the form of a VPN. This is a nifty bit of software that lets you whizz around these digital borders, thereby allowing you to globe trot and still access your preferred F1 live stream. It’s a completely legal workaround, very affordable, and super easy to use – allow us to explain more.

The 5.89 km (3.66-mile) circuit surrounds the old Royal Air Force Silverstone airfield and has been the home of British racing for over 70 years. First used as the opening Grand Prix of the 1950 season, the current version of the track features 18 turns and two DRS zones. Known for its high-speed corners and multiple passing opportunities, Silverstone often offers up a thrilling race. Lewis Hamilton has won the British Grand Prix a record eight times and is one of 10 English drivers to win the home event.

How To Watch (all times ET)

  • British GP Preview Show: Thursday 6/30 – 1:00 pm – ESPN3/WatchESPN
  • Practice 1 – Friday 7/1 – 7:55 am – ESPNU/ESPN Deportes/WatchESPN
  • Practice 2 – Friday 7/1 – 10:55 am – ESPNU/ESPN Deportes/WatchESPN
  • Practice 3 – Saturday 7/2 – 6:55 am – ESPN2/ESPN Deportes/WatchESPN
  • Qualifying – Saturday 7/2 – 9:55 am – ESPN2/ESPN Deportes/WatchESPN
  • Grand Prix Sunday (Pre-race Show) – Sunday 7/3 – 8:30 am – ESPN2/ESPN Deportes/WatchESPN
  • Grand Prix Race – Sunday 7/3 – 9:55 am – ESPN2/ESPN Deportes/WatchESPN

DraftKings Sportsbook is offering odds on the race. Max Verstappen remains the overall favorite at -105 after winning five of the last six Grand Prix events. Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc follows at +220, but then rather than the Red Bull or Ferrari teammates, it’s Lewis Hamilton at +900. Back at his home track boosts his odds beyond what the Mercedes has been able to deliver so far this year. If you are looking for longer odds, but an inspiring story, could George Russell (+1,200) or Lando Norris (+10,000) pick up their first-ever F1 wins at the British Grand Prix?

What to Watch For

  • Silverstone’s smooth surface was repaved a few years ago and the fast corners will give Mercedes the first chance to retest their upgraded car floor since Barcelona. They are bringing several upgrades this weekend which should improve their bouncing issues and increase their pace. For a team used to winning consistently, it’s been a difficult season, and how they would love to return to the front at the British Grand Prix.
  • Can anyone stop Red Bull? Seven wins from nine Grand Prix events. When they’ve finished a race, they haven’t been out of the top four. And while Perez’s issue last time out raises Red Bull’s reliability issues for the first time since Australia, at the moment it seems only they can prevent a potential double-championship.
  • Ferrari needs to halt their slide. Silverstone’s track characteristics should play to Ferrari’s strengths, much like Barcelona. After three straight rounds of errors and failures from the Italian side – Spain (Leclerc retirement), Monaco (pit strategy blunders costing them the 1-2), & Baku (another Leclerc retirement) – they began to regain their footing in Montreal (2nd and 5th). It’s time for a full response to reignite the driver and team championships.
  • Lando Norris is still searching for his first F1 victory. After finishing 6th last season in the Drivers’ Championship, McLaren has not provided a consistent ride in this new era of regulations. Norris’ best F1 finish at Silverstone was 4th last season but he won the event back in 2017 as part of his F3 Championship season. Finishing well outside the points in Montreal (15th), Lando will be hoping for a home bounce on Sunday.
  • While Alpine finished a distant 5th last season, based on potential alone they would easily land in 4th ahead of McLaren. The Alonso-Ocon duo have resulted in 12 top ten finishes from a possible 18. With a multi-time World Champ and race-winner, along with the top F1 prospect in Oscar Piastri, Alpine’s future looks bright.
  • Could Alfa Romeo end up as the surprise team of the season? Last year the Italian team finished in 9th place with just 13 points. They surpassed that by the fourth round of the season thanks to a strong car and a wise decision to reshuffle their driver lineup. Valtteri Bottas’ experience and Zhou Guanyu’s impressive runs for a rookie have Alfa Romeo on pace for their best finish in a decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.